Weird Fiction: The Passing of the Generational Torch

FOR MATT CARDIN:

“[Dark Awakenings is] a thinking-man’s book of the macabre…Cardin’s tales are rich with references to Lovecraft, Nietzsche, and other writers whose work gives them unusual philosophic depth.” – Publishers Weekly

“Matt Cardin ranks among the foremost authors of contemporary American horror.” – Laird Barron

“It’s a bold writer who, in this day and age, tries to make modern horror fiction out of theology, but Cardin pulls it off.” – Darrell Schweitzer

“In the tradition of Poe and Lovecraft, Cardin’s accomplishments as a writer are paralleled by his expertise as a literary critic and theorist.” – Thomas Ligotti

“Matt Cardin is one of those rare horror authors who is also a true scholar and intellectual.” – Jack Haringa

FOR RICHARD GAVIN:

“Literate horror fans who have yet to encounter Canadian author Richard Gavin are in for a treat. The lyrical prose is often at a higher level than usual presentations of otherworldly demons and malevolent forces.” – Publishers Weekly

“Richard Gavin is one of the bright new stars in contemporary weird fiction. His richly textured style, deft character portrayal, and powerful horrific conceptions make every one of his tales a pleasure to read.” – S. T. Joshi

“Gavin’s storytelling can be masterly. As with Machen and Blackwood at their best, an epiphany or illumination is achieved, though Gavin’s mysticism is darker and distinctly his own.” – Wormwood

FOR STUART YOUNG:

“No one can accuse Stuart Young of avoiding the big issues — with insight and verve, he tackles head-on the existence of God, the mystery of human consciousness and the transformative effects of psychedelic drugs.” – Mark Chadbourne

“Wow, what an impressive story … [The Mask Behind the Face is] ambitious, in fact downright audacious.” – T.E.D. Klein

The Qwillery: The View From Monday – March 31, 2014

Happy last Monday in March! This is a very full release week including a tremendous number of books out on April 1st. No fooling!

image

There are 2 debuts:

Irenicon (The Wave Trilogy 1) by Aidan Harte;

and

Deadroads by Robin Riopelle.

And from formerly featured Debut Author Challenge Authors:

Cursed by Alexa Egan;

The Bird Eater by Ania Ahlborn;

Immortal Hunter (Execution Underground 2) by Kait Ballenger;

Covenant (Books of Raziel 2) by Sabrina Benulis;

Turned (Belladonna Agency 1) by Virna DePaul;

The Ophelia Prophecy by Sharon Lynn Fisher;

Marked (Mindspace Investigations 3) by Alex Hughes;

Drowning in Fire (Elementals 3) by Hanna Martine;

Tomorrow, the Killing (Low Town 2) Daniel Polansky;

and

Silence for the Dead by Simone St. James.

March 30, 2014

TITLEAUTHORSERIES
The Wanderer’s Tale (ri)David BilsboroughF – Annals of Lindormyn 1
March 31, 2014

TITLEAUTHORSERIES
Small Doses of the Future: A Collection of Medical Science Fiction StoriesBrad AikenSF – Collection
Death’s Daughter (e)Kathleen CollinsPNR – Realm Walker 2
Minding the Stars: The Early Jack Vance Volume 4Terry Dowling (ed)
Jonathan Strahan (ed)
SF/F – Collection
Cursed (e)Alexa EganPNR – The Complete Imnada Brotherhood Novellas
Dangerous Angel (e)Stacy GailPNR – Earth Angels 4
At Star’s End (e)Anna HackettSFR
The Compleat CrowBrian LumleyF – Titus Crow Stories
April 1, 2014

TITLEAUTHORSERIES
The Goblin EmperorKatherine AddisonF
The Bird EaterAnia AhlbornH
Circle of DesireKeri ArthurFR – Damask Circle 3
Wild WolfJennifer AshleyPNR – Shifters Unbound 6
Immortal Hunter (e)Kait BallengerPNR – The Execution Underground 2
Lexicon (h2tp)Max BarrySF
Dark EdenChris BeckettSF
Hecate’s OwnDana Marie BellPNR – Heart’s Desire 2
CovenantSabrina BenulisF/Go – Books of Raziel 2
What the Doctor OrderedMichael BlumleinH – Collection
The Days of the DeerLiliana BodocF – Saga of the Borderlands 1
A Killing NotionMelissa BourbonPCM – Magical Dressmaking Mystery 3
Riveted (tp2mm)Meljean BrookSPR – Iron Seas 3
The Devil’s Eye (e)Dawn BrownGoR – Shivers 10
Blameless (ri)Gail CarrigerSP – Parasol Protectorate 3
Changeless (ri)Gail CarrigerSP – Parasol Protectorate 2
Soulless (ri)Gail CarrigerSP – Parasol Protectorate 1
Quicksilver SoulChristine D’AboPHR – Shadow Guild 2
The Ugly Woman of Castello di Putti: A Tor.Com OriginalA.M. DellamonicaF
TurnedVirna DePaulPNR – Belladonna Agency 1
The Ophelia ProphecySharon Lynn FisherSFR
Magical Misfire (e)Kimberly FrostPNR – A Southern Witch Novella
SeveredGary FryH
Vampire’s HungerCynthia GarnerSFR – Awakening 1
The RevolutionsFelix GilmanSF/R
Legacy of Darkness (e)Jane GodmanGoR – Shivers 9
The Awakening (ri)Heather Graham
(Shannon Drake)
PNR – Alliance Vampires 5
Darkening Around Me (e)Barbara J. HancockGoR – Shivers 1
Games Creatures PlayCharlaine Harris (ed)
Toni L.P. Kelner (ed)
UF – Anthology
Empty Space: A Haunting (h2tp)M. John HarrisonSF/H
Dream a Little Dream (e)Megan HartPNR
Irenicon: Book 1 of the Wave Trilogy (D US)Aidan HarteF – Wave Trilogy 1
The Crimson ShieldNathan HawkeF – Gallow 1
MarkedAlex HughesSF – Mindspace Investigations 3
Ghost of a GambleSue Ann JaffarianPCM – Ghost of Granny Apples 4
Tempting the DemonElle JamesPNR
Enchanting the BeastKathryne KennedyPHR – Relics of Merlin 4
Wicked GamesAngela KnightPNR – Collection
Appalachian Overthrow (h2mm)E.E. KnightSF – Vampire Earth 10
Baltic GambitE.E. KnightSF – Vampire Earth 11
The Frangipani HotelViolet KupersmithGh – Collection
When He Was Bad (ri)Shelly Laurenston
Cynthia Eden
PNR – Stories
The Fearful GatesRoss LawheadF – An Ancient Earth 3
Into the Void: Star WarsTim LebbonSF – Star Wars: Dawn of the Jedi
The Forever Knight (h2mm)John MarcoF – Bronze Knight 1
Drowning in FireHanna MartinePNR – Elementals 3
Step Back in TimeAli McNamaraTTR
Like a Dead Man WalkingWilliam F. Nolan
Jason V. Brock (ed)
SF/H – Collection
Ghost SeerRobin D. OwensPNR – Ghost Seer 1
Tomorrow, the KillingDaniel PolanskyDF – Low Town 2
Stoker’s Manuscript (h2tp)Royce ProutyH
Prince’s FireAmy RabyFR – Hearts and Thrones 3
FallRod ReesSF/Dys – Demi-Monde Saga 4
Evil Never DiesMick RidgewellH
Deadroads: A Novel of Supernatural Suspense (D)Robin RiopelleSu/Sus
Keith Roberts SF Gateway OmnibusKeith RobertsSF – SF Gateway Omnibus
Shattered MoonMoira RogersPNR – Bloodhounds
Black Rose (e)Jenna RyanGoR – Shivers 3
Silence for the DeadSimone St. JamesGo
Bob Shaw SF Gateway OmnibusBob ShawSF – SF Gateway Omnibus
Conversations with William GibsonPatrick A. Smith (ed)SF – Literary Conversations
Running FreeJorrie SpencerPNR – Northern Shifters 5
Angel City (h2mm)Jon SteeleSu/P – Angelus Trilogy 2
The Homecoming (h2tp)Carsten StroudSu/H – Niceville 2
From Civil War to World WarPeter G. TsourasAH – Britannia’s Fist Trilogy1
The Seventh ChildErik ValeurGo
Circle of BloodDebbie ViguieF/P – Witch Hunt 3
The Way of All FleshTim WaggonerH
Mark of the BearNJ WaltersPNR – Hades’ Carnival 2
The KingJ.R. WardPNR – Black Dagger Brotherhood 12
Gothic Science Fiction: 1980-2010Sara Wasson (ed)
Emily Alder (ed)
LC/Go/SF
April 2, 2014

TITLEAUTHORSERIES
The Devil in America: A Tor.Com OriginalKai Ashante WilsonF

D – Debut
e – eBook
h2mm – Hardcover to Mass Market Paperback
h2tp – Hardcover to Trade Paperback
ri – Reissue or Reprint

AH – Alternate History
DF – Dark Fantasy
Dys – Dystopia
F – Fantasy
FR – Fantasy Romance
Gh – Ghosts
Go – Gothic
GoR – Gothic Romance
H – Horror
LC – Literary Criticism
P – Paranormal
PCM – Paranormal Cozy Mystery
PHR – Paranormal Historical Romance
PNR – Paranormal Romance
SF – Science Fiction
SFR – Science Fiction Romance
SP – Steampunk
SPR – Steampunk Romance
Su – Supernatural
Sus – Suspense
TTR – Time Travel Romance
UF – Urban Fantasy

Easy cheats: 10 foods to have on hand for entertaining

Putting together a party can be an exhausting effort, but it doesn’t need to be. Check out these quick and easy ideas, and get ready to wow your friends — with minimal time and effort!Taco barTaco bars are an easy way to get dinner on the table, since people love personalizing their own plates.

image

image image image image image

image
image
image

imageimage

Prohibited.
%d bloggers like this: