Black Wings III. New Tales of Lovecraftian Horror, edited by…

Black Wings III. New Tales of Lovecraftian Horror, edited by S.T. Joshi, PS Publishing, 2014. over art by Jason Van Hollander, info: pspublishing.co.uk.

Black Wings III. New Tales of Lovecraftian Horror, edited by S.T. Joshi, PS Publishing, 2014. over art by Jason Van Hollander, info: pspublishing.co.uk.

“This third installment of S. T. Joshi’s critically acclaimed Black Wings series contains seventeen stories by some of the foremost writers in contemporary weird fiction, using the ideas, imagery, and atmosphere of H. P. Lovecraft’s tales as springboards. Jonathan Thomas opens the book with a chilling tale of biological horror set in Lovecraft’s native Providence, Rhode Island. Caitlín R. Kiernan melds brooding melancholy with Lovecraftian cosmicism in her tale, while Simon Strantzas weaves an ingenious variant on Lovecraft’s concept of the ghoul. Darrell Schweitzer and Donald Tyson probe the notion of alternate worlds in their tales. This volume takes the reader on imaginative journeys around the world. Don Webb finds Lovecraftian horror in the wilds of Texas; Peter Cannon’s characters encounter the denizens of Innsmouth on a trip to China; Mollie L. Burleson enlivens the American Southwest with terrors out of history. Joseph S. Pulver, Sr., revivifies Lovecraft’s ancient New England seaport of Kingsport, Massachusetts, while in their collaborative tale W. H. Pugmire and Jessica Amanda Salmonson do the same with Lovecraft’s iconic Arkham. The volume concludes with a searching rumination on Lovecraft’s early tale “From Beyond” by Brian Stableford. Black Wings III demonstrates how H. P. Lovecraft’s work continues to inspire some of the best in contemporary weird writing.”

Contents:
Introduction – S. T. Joshi
Houdini Fish – Jonathan Thomas
Dimply Dolly Doofy – Donald R. Burleson
The Hag Stone – Richard Gavin
Underneath an Arkham Moon – Jessica Amanda Salmonson & W. H. Pugmire
Spiderwebs in the Dark – Darrell Schweitzer
One Tree Hill (The World as Catalysm) – Caitlín R. Kiernan
The Man with the Horn – Jason V. Brock
Hotel del Lago – Mollie L. Burleson
Waller – Donald Tyson
The Megalith Plague – Don Webb
Down Black Staircases – Joseph S. Pulver, Sr
China Holiday – Peter Cannon
Necrotic Cove – Lois Gresh
The Turn of the Tide – Mark Howard Jones
Weltschmerz – Sam Gafford
Thistle’s Find – Simon Strantzas
Further Beyond – Brian Stableford

8:00 am |

Gennaio 30 2014

| 4 note

» Last of the Titans: A Note on the Passing of Ray Harryhausen (and Forrest…

About

The Teeming Brain explores the intersection of religion, horror, the paranormal, creativity, consciousness, and culture. It also tracks apocalyptic and dystopian trends in technology, politics, ecology, economics, the arts, education, and society at large.

Visitors: 411,167

Subscribers: 314

Subscribe

Or subscribe via RSS using your favorite reader:

RSS Feed

Support Us

If you enjoy The Teeming Brain’s ongoing exploration of the apocalyptic intersection of religion, horror, the paranormal, creativity, consciousness, and culture, please consider making a donation to help defray the time and costs associated with this project.

OPTION 1: You can make a recurring (and voluntary) monthly donation of $3:

OPTION 2: You can make a one-time donation in any amount you choose:

image

Whichever option you choose, be sure to subscribe (for free) to our blog updates as well. See above. And thank you sincerely for your support!

Praise for the Teem

FOR MATT CARDIN:

“[Dark Awakenings is] a thinking-man’s book of the macabre…Cardin’s tales are rich with references to Lovecraft, Nietzsche, and other writers whose work gives them unusual philosophic depth.” – Publishers Weekly

“Matt Cardin ranks among the foremost authors of contemporary American horror.” – Laird Barron

“It’s a bold writer who, in this day and age, tries to make modern horror fiction out of theology, but Cardin pulls it off.” – Darrell Schweitzer

“In the tradition of Poe and Lovecraft, Cardin’s accomplishments as a writer are paralleled by his expertise as a literary critic and theorist.” – Thomas Ligotti

“Matt Cardin is one of those rare horror authors who is also a true scholar and intellectual.” – Jack Haringa

FOR STUART YOUNG:

“No one can accuse Stuart Young of avoiding the big issues — with insight and verve, he tackles head-on the existence of God, the mystery of human consciousness and the transformative effects of psychedelic drugs.” – Mark Chadbourne

“Wow, what an impressive story … [The Mask Behind the Face is] ambitious, in fact downright audacious.” – T.E.D. Klein

Wilum H. Pugmire chats with William F. Nolan and Jason & Sunni Brock!

Author Wilum Pugmire leads a discussion with genre legend Nolan and his cohorts Jason and Sunni Brock— fresh from their appearance at

Prohibited.
%d bloggers like this: